Women's Awareness Blog











{December 21, 2010}   Awareness is Key

Everyday, I miss my daughter but somedays are worse than others. Today, is the winter soltice and she weighs heavy on my heart. Maybe because she enjoyed so much this time of year. I always wonder why someone at Abstract Rude’s music studio put Ghb in something she was drinking that fateful Easter. And, I wonder why they didn’t call 911 or take her to the hospital. And, why did the homicide division or police not hold those responsible accountable. Question which there never came answers. Time has past but the loss remains a gapping hole. Perhaps, if someone reads my words they will be more careful, more aware, over the holidays to not leave their drink unattended; to not go to parties alone; and to not compromise their situation with drinking too much alcohol. Predators are always watching and waiting for the opportunity to strike unsuspecting victims. My daughter, meet with rapper, Abstract Rude, at his studio after clubs had closed. She obviously trusted him. She went to his studio alone. No one ever saw her alive after she went there. The friends she had partied with that nighht at a club 11 blocks from her house said that after they walked her home and left her standing at her doorstep, she was radiant and clear as she waived goodbye to them. After they parted, she walked an additional 2.5 blocks to Abstract Rude’s music studio. The studio musicians and Abstract, in their statements to the police, said she arrived at their studio after having ingested Ghb at a club. But, it is a known fact that Ghb takes affect in 10 to 15 minutes after ingestion. A person cannot walk one block let alone the 13 blocks she had just walked. After arriving at his music studio, Abstract Rude, and his studio muscians, claim that around 45 minutes or so she fell to her knees and then to the floor and went into a convulsion. They didn’t call 911 even after their efforts to resuscitate failed. By their own admission (45 minutes later), the source of the Ghb poisioning was someone at the studio. This fact was ignored by the San Francisco Homicide Division and the Medical Examiner, who said only 1 in 1000 would have died from the amount of Ghb in her system. But, Ghb metablilizes at an incredible rate and is difficult to trace. And, yet, 24 hours later there was a huge amount of Ghb remaining in her blood and tissues. There was also an expert’s report submited a year later substantiating the the Ghb poisioning likely occured at the studio and was a substantial amount that would cause death. Despite all of this evidence, and my constant pleading with the Homicide detective, the DA and the Medical Examiner the case was closed after two years stating that if evidence came forward they would look at the case again. I have tried through the Freedom of Iformation Act to obtain copies of the investigative file and received no response. Long agonizing years have past and I still live with the torment and hole in my heart that there was no justice for my daughter. It is difficult to accept and to understand how one’s life can be taken away and those responsible go free. Those responsible are predators. And, all I can hope is that the number of incidences diminishes in direct proportion to raising date-rape drug awareness. I’ve heard several of my daughter’s friends comment that her death made them think more about their choices than they had previously. My poor heart has always desired to tell my daughter’s story to the world. Especially since, her story was filed away as a cold case. I had hoped to tell her story, and capture the public’s attention and raise enough money to pursue justice for her but, time has past too quickly during the time it took to write her story. First, I wrote a memoir that publishers declined to publish because of the raw naure of the content. Today, I am rewriting the memoir of my daughter’s story as fiction. The fiction tells my daughter’s story but also adds a witness to the events that took place that night, who testifies for the State prosecutor, who finally prosecutes those responsible. I am hoping to raise awareness by selling the manuscript to a movie producer. Then the death of my daughter’s life as a result of Ghb will serve to raise awareness of the real threat that Ghb and other date-rape drugs pose to the public, especially women, as well as the predators who administer the drugs. I have ofter wonder how many child abductions succeed because of the disabling affect of date-rape drugs. If anyone is interested in reading chapters of my book, please write of your interest and I will post chapters. Look for post that provide links to other Mother’s stories about the death of their child as a result of date rape drugs and decide for yourself if date -rape, and the use of date rape drugs, is myth or reality.

As I said above, today is the Winter Solitice but there was also a lunar eclipse today in the Western Hemisphere. It has been 456 since these two events occured on the same day. In honor of my daughter’s fascination with celestral events, I provide this link to pictures that remind us of the incrediable mystery of the universe. http://www.theepochtimes.com/n2/content/view/47837/

Leave a Reply

et cetera
