Women's Awareness Blog











{June 12, 2013}   Healing

How do you heal from horrific experiences like rape, or loss on a multitude of levels? I believe the first step is to stop clinging to the old memories and, begin letting go. Another is forgiving the past and letting it go. Realizing the past has no power over you in the present moment. When you are frighten by past events the present moment is always a choice. Another choice, is accepting and loving oneself. Personally, letting go has been an ongoing process of not only letting go but also learning to embrace myself in loving kindness as well as embracing my pain and suffering. I believe we encounter problems when we do not acknowledge our pain or suffering. Pain and suffering is like a baby, it demands attention. You need to be mindful of your baby, befriend it, or greet it with loving compassion. If we can hold our own suffering in loving compasssion then we can empathize with the suffering of others. For 14 years I have suffered and have written and spoken publicly about the horiffic loss our family suffer as a result of the GHB murder of our precious girl, Skylar. In her honor, I now want to focus this date rape awareness site to the awareness of our truths, and communicating them. I love to share my experience and tell my truth honestly. I listen to the truth of others. I am here to open my heart to hear your truth. Each time we let an experience pass without acknowledging our feelings we numb ourselves and close off. When we honor our personal truth and say how we feeel, we grow internally, and can help others around us who also suffer. Skylar lived in her truth. Communicating her truth was vital to her well-being. Live in your truth. Communicate your truth. It always helps us to realize what we feel because it leads us to a better understanding of who we are. Please use this forum to express your truth. Listen to yourself and trust your inner voice. I am here to listen to the truths of others. ~Peace~

Leave a Reply

et cetera
